Events

RCBC Events 

Peace Country Regional Waste Reduction Workshop 
October 27, 2016 

The Recycling Councils of Alberta and British Columbia, in partnership with Northern Environmental Action Team, are pleased to announce a regional waste reduction workshop to be held in Dawson Creek, B.C. on October 27, 2016, at the Kiwanis Performing Arts Centre.

RCA, RCBC, and NEAT will be working together to deliver a workshop of interest to residents of the Peace Country and beyond. Topics will include C&D waste, ag plastics, organics diversion, illegal dumping, and provincial updates, in addition to local municipal updates.

Join your colleagues for this informative day of waste reduction discussions.

$100/person – RCA / RCBC members
$125/person – potential members
 

Register today! 

2017 RCBC Conference - June 21-23, 2017

Whistler, BC Westin Whistler Resort

Member Events

Conferences

Recycling Council of Alberta Conference - September 28-30, 2016
Jasper, AB  Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 

 Coast Waste Management Association Conference - October 19-21, 2016
Victoria, BC Westin Bear Mountain Resort 

Consultations

CPIA WEBINAR: Creating Recycling Communications that Connect with Residents & Customers 

Tues. Sept. 27, 2016

Plastics are a big part of your recycling bins.

This FREE 40-minute webinar will help you find communication tools to connect with your residents and customers, helping them recycle more.

Canadian Plastics Industry Association's (CPIA) VP of Sustainability, Krista Friesen will talk about:

  • Why communicating effectively with your residents and customers pays off
  • Why terminology matters – benefits of using terms that your residents and customers use for plastic materials
  • What CPIA offers to help you talk about plastics packaging recycling do’s and dont's

Want to know more? Join us - we’ll save a seat for you!

WHEN: Tuesday, September 27, 2016

TIME:    1 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time
Other time zones:
2:30 p.m. Newfoundland Daylight Time
2:00 p.m. Atlantic Daylight Time
12:00 p.m. Central Daylight Time
11:00 a.m. Mountain Daylight Time
10:00 a.m. Pacific Daylight Time

COST: Free of charge

HOW: Click here to register and get login details

QUESTIONS: Click here for questions or to contact us 

Upcoming Webinar on Proposed 2017 Metro Vancouver Tipping Fee and Solid Waste Disposal Bylaw Changes

The Tipping Fee and Solid Waste Disposal Regulation Bylaw describes solid waste regulations as well as tipping fees for waste and recycling at Metro Vancouver Transfer Stations, and is renewed annually.

Metro Vancouver is proposing several changes to the current Tipping Fee Bylaw for 2017, as described in the Zero Waste Committee July 14th, 2016 Agenda Report, Item 5.2, titled “Proposed 2017 Tipping Fee Bylaw Changes”. Proposed changes are related to:

  • Organics and Clean Wood Disposal Ban Enforcement Thresholds
  • Personal Hygiene Products
  • Disposal ban surcharges for loads containing Hazardous and Operational Impact Materials or Product Stewardship Materials
  • Surcharges for unsecured loads

(Note: proposed 2017 tipping fees will be brought to the Board in October along with the proposed budget.)

You are invited to hear about, provide feedback on, and ask questions about the proposed changes at the following events:

Webinar on Monday, August 29, 2016 at 2:00pm (PDT): Approximately 1 hour in length, including a 15 minute presentation by Metro Vancouver staff, followed by time for questions and comments.

After registering, you will be redirected to a confirmation page containing instructions on joining the webinar, with an option to add it to your Outlook calendar. If you have any technical questions related to joining the meeting, please emailChris.Chong@metrovancouver.org.

Register for Webinar

Workshop at Metro Vancouver head office on Thursday, September 15, 2016 at 10:00 am (PDT): Approximately 2 hours in length, including a presentation by Metro Vancouver, followed by group discussion, questions, and comments.

Register for Workshop

Written feedback on the proposed changes to the Tipping Fee Bylaw may also be submitted to solidwasteoperations@metrovancouver.org