2021-2022 Board of Directors

Government | Business | Non-Profit | Individual 

Government Sector

Jamie Benton, Fraser Valley Regional District 

Jamie Benton is an Environmental Policy Analyst for the Fraser Valley Regional District (FVRD) who has over a decade of experience in local government, regulating water and waste management industries and processes within the UK and Canada. He has expertise in environmental compliance, pollution prevention, and changing behaviours within the solid waste sector. Through implementing strategies of the FVRD Solid Waste Management Plan, Jamie coordinates the FVRD Industry Working Group with the Waste Management Association of BC.  He is also an active member in the BC and Yukon SWANA Chapter, the Southern Interior Waste Managers Association, and the BC Product Stewardship Council. (Appointed June 13, 2019).

Sarah Willie, Comox Valley Regional District 

Sarah Willie is a professional with over 15 years of experience in multiple sectors of environmental management. Currently a Solid Waste Analyst with the Comox-Strathcona Waste Management service on Vancouver Island, Sarah works to ensure efficient and fiscally responsible service for residents with a focus on diversion and extended producer responsibility programs. Her experience includes developing online tools for local government reporting and completing financial analyses to determine environmental handling fees for EPR programs across Canada. (Appointed June 13, 2019)

Marcia Dick, City of Kamloops

Marcia has worked as a Solid Waste Analyst with the City of Kamloops since 2016. Prior to beginning her work with the City, Marcia operated Waste Naught BC, performing waste audits and providing waste management planning services for institutions, businesses, and non-profits. She has led many successful projects in her tenure at the city, and has been crucial in the development of an upcoming curbside organic waste collection program. Marcia is active in promoting waste reduction in her community - speaking on the topic at community events, volunteering at Repair Café events, and administrating a Zero Waste Kamloops Facebook page. (Appointed July 15, 2021)

Business Sector

Ken Ingram, West Coast Reduction (Chair)

Ken Ingram is the Director of Technical and Environmental Services at West Coast Reduction Ltd,   where his roles include capital project management, development of recycling technologies, quality assurance, regulatory compliance and stakeholder engagement.  He has 35 years of experience in the organics recycling industry.  He has extensive experience in policy development processes around recycling and resource management at the municipal, provincial and federal levels.  He currently serves on the National Zero Waste Council’s Circular Economy Working Group.

David Lawes, BC Used Oil Management Association

David is the Chief Executive Officer of the BC Used Oil Management Association.  David also currently serves as the Vice President and Director of the Canadian Product Stewardship Council (Conference on Canadian Stewardship), and Co-chair of the Stewardship Agencies of BC. David is the former President of the Global Product Stewardship Council, former co-chair of the Canadian Council Ministers of Environment Waste TG and the former Manager of Waste Prevention for the BC MoE. David led the BC Government initiative to create the first EPR Regulations for Packaging and all Electronic and Electrical products in North America. David also volunteers as a Director on the Vancouver Island Soccer Association, in the role of Treasurer. 

Ed Walsh, Return-It 

Ed Walsh has over 25 years of experience in the waste diversion industry and has held several important positions in several waste management companies in BC. Ed currently acts as Director of Operations - Vancouver Island for Return-it Encorp Pacific. 

David Crawford, Independent Corporate Director

David is an Independent Corporate Director and is currently a member of two other national Boards of Directors. Uniquely he is an Environment Professional (EP), a Chartered Professional Account (CPA) and a Chartered Director (C.Dir). Between May 2013 and June 2020 David was the Vice President of the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade. In 2006 and 2007 he established the integrated solid waste management plan for the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games. Prior to this David worked for the Manitoba Product Stewardship Corporation for eight years where he researched, designed and implemented post-consumer and commercial recycling and waste diversion programs. David lives in Coquitlam with his wife, two children and a service-dog-in-training named Norris. 

Non-Profit Sector

Karen Mason-Bennett, Northern Environmental Action Team (NEAT)

Karen has worked for NEAT since 2010, where she is responsible for the grass roots, community-based waste reduction program development across the northeast.   She currently serves on the board of the Child Development Centre in Fort St. John.  She is also the Vice-Chair of the North Peace Cultural Society, a coach for the Special Olympics Swimming and the Co-Chair of Communities in Bloom.  

Karen Massicotte, PNE

Karen is a part of the senior executive team at the PNE, where she has worked since 2014. In her role, Karen oversees many aspects of the company including business development, brand and digital marketing, corporate communications, and community engagement. She has over 10 years of experience working with membership based organizations responsible for communicating with multiple stakeholder groups. Karen served on the International Board of Directors for Meeting Professionals International for 5 years, and has 7 years of experience serving on local board of directors for several events associations. 

Laura Midan, Archway Community Services

Laura has been with the Abbotsford Mission Recycling Program (Archway Community Services) for over 10 years, first as Education Coordinator and currently as Director. As Education Coordinator, she was responsible for developing and implementing environmental education programs, public relations, and other marketing. As Director, she oversees the operation of a single-stream Materials Recovery Facility. Laura has served on the board of the Mission Adopt-a-Block Society, Mission Communities-in-Bloom, and local Toastmasters groups.

Individual Sector

Bert Monesmith

Bert Monesmith has over 35 years’ experience in the recycling/waste industry throughout North America.  He is a former President of Genesis Recycling (Sims Recycling Solutions) and has owned and operated several waste and recycling companies in western Canada as well as his own Kelowna-based environmental waste management company, providing consulting, marketing and management expertise to a variety of clients. He has been a staunch supporter of recycling throughout his career. Bert has served as director of several community based non-profit organizations supporting work initiatives with the recycling industry for employment disadvantaged people. 

Mairi Welman

Mairi Welman is a career strategic planning and communications professional with over 30 years' experience across a variety of industries within the private and public sectors. She has brought her insightful and practical approach to working with organizations and clients in the private sector in heavy transportation, emergent technology, and TV/film, and has also spent many years working with all four levels of government. Mairi brings a rare breadth of experience, capacity and knowledge to the table, and through Welman Communications currently provides strategic advisory services on contract for clients seeking assistance with intergovernmental relations, communications, public engagement, stakeholder strategy, and staff and executive training in issues management and media relations.